2020 Voter Information

Educators are no stranger to paperwork, but this may be the most important form you fill out this year. 

Make sure you’re registered to vote! 

Elections are how we hold our elected officials accountable. For this reason, educators must be involved. The 2020 election season is in full swing, and many of the state legislative races will be decided in the primary election on March 3, 2020. 

The deadline to register to vote in the March 3 primary elections is February 3. Early voting begins February 18th. Check your registration here. 

Open Primaries: 

In a primary election, registered voters select a candidate that they believe should be a political party’s nominee for elected office to run in the general election. 

Arkansas has open primaries which allow a voter to vote on a ballot of their choosing even if they are not a member of the party. Voters will be asked to select a Republican, Democratic, or nonpartisan ballot when they arrive at the polling place. Judicial races will also appear on the March 3rd ballot, along with some school board races and all judicial races.  

Election Day: 

You can vote at your poll on Election Day, March 3 from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Find your polling place at Arkansas Voter View. 

Bring your ID: 

In March 2017, Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson signed into law a bill requiring voters to present photo identification at the polls. Under this law, a voter who does not possess the required form of identification may cast a provisional ballot after signing a sworn statement attesting to his or her identity. 

Vote Early: 

During the preferential primary early voting is available February 18, through March 2nd. Voting locations are open between the hours of 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday, and 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday. Early voting ends at 5 p.m. on the Monday before the election. Off-site early voting hours may vary by county; watch your local newspaper or contact your county clerk for information. 

You can find more information about elections in Arkansas at the Secretary of State’s website.