Awards & Scholarships

The AEA offers a variety of awards
concerning public education in Arkansas

From the recognition of those Outstanding Local Affiliates, the notable contributions of Education Service Professionals, and those Future Teachers around the state, the association provides many an opportunity to acknowledge those with an impact on public education.

Document Section

Emma Scott - Scholarship for Future Teachers

The Emma Scott Memorial Scholarships were established in 1961 by the Arkansas Education Association to honor Emma Scott. Miss Scott was a former English teacher in Little Rock and AEA staff member who is credited with establishing Future Teachers of America programs in Arkansas.

TE Patterson - Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

This $500 scholarship is awarded yearly to five African-American college students in Arkansas. Each year this scholarship also honors the memory of a distinguished African-American educator. The deadline for scholarship applications is March 1st. All applications must be completed with documents by the deadline. Otherwise the committee will not consider it.

TW Coggs - In-service Grant

A grant of $500 is awarded annually for the purpose of enabling a member of the Association to carry on a project, study, or research which would benefit education in some specific area. The deadline for scholarship applications is March 1.

Education Support Professional of the Year Award

The AEA Education Support Professional of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of Education Support Professionals to their schools, communities, and their profession. The award is presented to a member of the AEA who demonstrates outstanding accomplishments and reflects the contributions of ESP to public education.

Outstanding Local Association Award

The Outstanding Local Association Award recognizes local associations for achievements in one or more of the following areas: Instruction and Professional Development, Public Relations and Communications, Membership, Political Action, and Employee Rights and Responsibilities.

Local Newsletter Award

To enter your local association newsletter in the annual local newsletter competition, please complete and return this form, along with at least two copies of your local association newsletter produced during the school year. Newsletters must be submitted in hardcopy or as PDF files.

Outstanding Citizen Award

The Outstanding Citizen Award is designed to recognize an individual – not employed by a public school – who has made a significant contribution to public education, during the previous calendar year, and as exemplified by one or a combination of the following:

  • Improving student achievement or curriculum
  • Contributing to the advancement of the profession
  • Promoting public education and/or school safety

School Bell Award

For more than 30 years the School Bell Award has been given to those members of the media who have contributed to the improvement of public education through outstanding coverage and interpretation of education news and local Association activities. Nominations are taken for newspaper, radio, and television outlets that have chosen to report the “good news” about public schools, education, and educators. March 1st is the deadline for nominations for School Bell Awards.

AEA Teacher of the Year

The AEA Teacher of the Year Award recognizes, rewards, and promotes excellence in teaching and advocacy for the association. All current licensed (certified) members of an AEA local affiliate are eligible. Each AEA local affiliate, may submit one nomination per year. If a local has more than one possible nominee, then the local affiliate will determine the nominee. Only nominations submitted and endorsed by one of these affiliates will be considered. March 1 is the deadline for nominations.